The following are the results of the
September 2014 APA Democratic Caucus endorsement meetings for the 2014 General Elections.


Congratulations to the following candidates who have received 60% or more of the total votes cast in their specific races and have won our endorsement at our September endorsement meetings:


Alameda County Superintendent of Schools – Karen Monroe

Bay Area Rapid Transit, Ward 4 – Lena Tam

Alameda Mayor – Marie Gilmore

Alameda City Council – Stewart Chen and Jim Oddie

Berkeley City Council, District 7 – Kriss Worthington

Berkeley City Council, District 8 - Lori Droste

Oakland City Council, District 2 – Abel Guillen

Oakland City Council, District 4 – Annie Campbell Washington

East Bay Municipal Utilities District, Ward 3 - Marguerite Young

Peralta Community College, District 7 – Julina Bonilla

Alameda School Board – Michael McMahon

Oakland School Board, District 2 – Aimee Eng

Oakland School Board, District 6 – Shanthi Gonzales

Berkeley Rent Board – James Chang

Fremont City Council – David Bonaccorsi and Raj Salwan

Newark City Council – Francisco Preciado, Jr.

Pleasanton City Council – Olivia Sanwong

San Leandro City Council – Kenneth Pon

Union City City Council – Pat Gacoscos and Kashmir Singh Shahi


Our previous endorsement in the San Leandro Mayoral race was announced in error. None of the candidates achieved our 60% threshold. We regret that we are unable to make an endorsement in that race.All of our candidates’ questionnaires will remain posted on our website at:

Additional endorsements are as follows:

Governor of California
Jerry Brown

Lt. Governor
Gavin Newsom

Secretary of State
Alex Padillia

State Controller
Betty Yee

State Treasurer
John Chiang

Attorney General
Kamala Harris

Insurance Commissioner
Dave Jones

Board of Equalization
Fiona Ma

US Congressional District 13
Barbara Lee

US Congressional District 15
Eric Swalwell

US Congressional District 17
Mike Honda

State Senate District 10
Bob Wieckowski

State Assembly District 16
Tim Sbranti

State Assembly District 18
Rob Bonta

State Assembly District 20
Bill Quirk

State Assembly District 25
Kansen Chu

Our membership has also voted to support:
Measure BB Transportation Sales Tax

We would like to thank all of the candidates who participated in our endorsement process. The residents of Alameda County are very fortunate to have so many qualified Democratic candidates seeking to represent us.

We have all benefited from the insights and thoughtful comments shared by Caucus members participating in our endorsement meeting and know that we are all better informed voters as a result.


Comments are closed.